Supportive Appliances

Dear Nespresso Coffee Maker:

Pat Romito LaPointe
The Haven
2 min readMar 23, 2022

--

https://unsplash.com/photos/L6WY8VY7k7s?

A few days ago, I wrote about how we often don’t appreciate the little things in life. When I entered my kitchen this morning, I saw another vital object for which I’ve not shown my appreciation.

Dear Nespresso Coffee Maker:

Every morning you stand ready for me to approach you. Thank you for not judging my sometimes staggering, sometimes shuffling as I come to you. You have been so understanding of how the difference in gait is dependent upon when I last took my Parkinson’s meds.

This brings me to other qualities you possess and for which I am grateful. Like how you are patient when I must satisfy your need for water. I apologize for all the times I dropped your cap into your water receptacle and how you never get angry when my shaking hands spill water all over you.

I appreciate how you tolerate my often-clumsy attempts to insert the coffee pod. And, how you warn me when it’s time to drop the pod into your tiny mouth. I wait, sometimes not so patiently, for your light to stop blinking. But really, I know you are doing your best.

I am also grateful for your patience as my shaky hands try to place my cup in the best way to receive your black liquid gold with its enticing aroma. You are far more patient than me as I make these attempts. I do apologize for the words I use when frustrated with this task. I hope they don’t offend you.

There is something I’ve been hesitant to bring up. Are you hurt or insulted when I remove my cup and add ice or water to what you have so generously offered to me? I hope you see it as my refusal to wait another minute to enjoy what you have provided. Do you hear my “aah” after the first sip?

Do you know how you not only make my life pleasant but also the lives of those with whom I live? If you were not so efficient and prompt in providing your liquid gift, there would be no peace, contact or conversation each morning.

So, thank you for being there for me whether I take you to my office or pour your contents into a thermos to enjoy your gift as I go about my day.

Please share this letter with your siblings waiting on my kitchen counters in Arizona and Wisconsin.

--

--

Pat Romito LaPointe
The Haven

A lover of life stories, often finding humor in them. Refuse to take life too seriously. Appreciate out of the ordinary tales and those that inform.