The Dirt on Why I’m Fostering Plants

By: L.B. Lewis

L.B. Lewis
The Haven

--

six pack of plants at beach
Near Santa Monica Pier with foster plants (Photo: L.B. Lewis)

It’s me, L.B. Lewis, about to confess I’m really not cool in Los Angeles.

You may have seen my last posts: Driving at Night, How I Almost Bought What I Donated, and Get Ready with Me & My Dirty Dishes.

And, you may have wondered, after all that, who lives in LA without a car?

It’s me, L.B. Lewis, car-less in LA.

This was precisely the issue when I tried to foster a dog. I was turned down because having a car was a requirement to take the dog to vet visits and adoption days.

Then, early in March, I saw a tiny ad in a local free newspaper to foster plants.

But, who in LA would be responsible enough to grow seeds and take them back in a month?

It’s me, L.B. Lewis, because I was determined to take care of something.

So, I took the bus to pick up my new plants.

I chose a plastic six pack that was filled with dirt for me by the staff.

Then, I picked bean seeds because I remembered my Grandma’s fresh beans from her garden, made a hole with my finger then added the seeds.

--

--

L.B. Lewis
The Haven

Author of SMALL TALK WITH MYSELF, a 2022 Official Selection of Catalyst Festival and #1 Amazon book. Views are my own. Founder: MonteCristoStudio.com.