The Dream I Woke Up Laughing To.

Johnmark Odoyo
The Haven
Published in
2 min readJun 24, 2024
A reckless image created by AI.

It’s a wedding day.

My younger brother’s wedding.

Well, not exactly just his wedding — two grooms and two brides were crammed into one car, an old white Pajero. The other groom was quite old, perhaps in his mid-60s, while both brides were young. I couldn’t understand why they would share a wedding day, but it was my dream, so maybe I should ask myself that question. Then again, my mind is always a bit messed up, so perhaps that dream was normal.

But what would be funny at my younger brother’s wedding?

The old Pajero carrying the newlyweds just pulled up to where I, the dream’s owner, stood. I got a closer look at the car and saw the bride of the old man slapping him continuously, complaining about why he had only one car for their wedding. The old man, in his defense, blocked the furious slaps with his left hand and said that he wasn’t even the one who hired the car; it was my brother.

I don’t know why he thought that would lessen her anger, but the bride, now on top of him, beat him mercilessly, furious that her new groom didn’t bother to hire a car but relied on the charity of the younger groom. Meanwhile, my brother and his bride were laughing in the front seat about the situation unfolding in the back seat.

As the observer in this dream, I felt pity for the old man while trying not to laugh my ass off. So, I added a couple more cars, all Range Rover models. I even drove one of them to become part of the wedding convoy.

Instead of being grateful, the old man held his bride and pointed at the new fleet of luxury cars behind, saying, “Look, those are the ones I hired, baby.”

Ungrateful old man — it was me, not you.

Now see what you have done; your wife is now ecstatic about my ranger rovers, probably planning a luxurious honeymoon in her silly head.

And how dare my younger brother get married before me in my own dream? I decided that the wedding wouldn’t end well, so I chose to wake up.

I woke up laughing.

Not sure if it was for ruining my brother’s imaginary wedding, the old man taking a beating from his wife, or him taking credit for the Range Rovers.

What I know is,

I woke up laughing.

--

--

Johnmark Odoyo
The Haven

I write about funny African tales. Then laugh about it later…😂