Humor

The Home Moaner’s Manual

Ginger Henry Kuenzel
The Haven
3 min readJan 21, 2021

--

Photo by Cesar Carlevarino Aragon on Unsplash

It seems like there’s never a shortage of projects around my house. And every year there are more than the year before. That’s why what we all need is a Home Moaner’s Manual.

I should let you know that I am the quintessential tool person. I have so many tools that I don’t even know what some of them are supposed to be used for. Many stem from kindly souls who have offered to help me with a project and then left some tools behind. I do of course know what a hammer looks like, as well as a screwdriver. Once we get into the wrench department, things get more complicated. I’m not quite sure why anyone would need as many wrenches as I have acquired over the years. Last summer I bought a really expensive wrench at the request of someone who had offered to help me remove the engine from my wood chipper (yes, I really do have a wood chipper and no, I don’t remember why we decided to remove the engine). The project didn’t end well, and that friend hasn’t been back.

Home Moaner’s Manual tip #1: Make sure you have lots of friends, since most of them only extend an offer to help once.

And here’s tip #2: Don’t hesitate to ask anyone who drops by for assistance. My theory is that most guys love to play the role of aiding a damsel in distress. Let’s say your lawn mower won’t start. When the UPS or FedEx guy comes by the next…

--

--

Ginger Henry Kuenzel
The Haven

Author, journalist, editor, DE>EN translator. I color outside the lines, but stay on the page. Adirondack native. Humor writer. www.utopianstate.com