LIMERIDICULOUS

The Large Long Limerick War of 2021

Time to get your cadence on.

Michael Burg, MD (Satire Sommelier) šŸ˜¬
The Haven
Published in
4 min readJun 5, 2021

--

Photo by GR Stocks on Unsplash

Thereā€™s a Medium ā€” but well done ā€” war of words brewing.

So far, the ā€œcombatantsā€ include: Jennifer McDougall, Terry Trueman, Will Hull, Adelia Ritchie, Skye Mo'ipulelehua Kahoali'i, Jupiter Grant and little old me, taking most of the abuse ā€¦ of course. Boo freakinā€™ hoo.

If I left anyone out, thatā€™s by design. I want to see how many others I can enrage so they charge into battle.

It all started when editor/author Terry Trueman poked fun at my now infamous double limerick, messaging, in essence, ā€œthere are perfectly fine reasons why nobody writes these things.ā€ Then, he doubled back on his editorial ethics and published the thing ā€¦ because itā€™s brilliant.

Iā€™m putting words in his mouth, but thatā€™s intentional. How else am I to inflame this simmering situation and turn it into a full-blown fire storm?

Then, in rapid succession, Will Hull and Adelia Ritchie joined in the fray, along with Skye Mo'ipulelehua Kahoali'i and Jupiter Grant, I think.

Jennifer-come-lately (Jennifer McDougall) recently pitted Will Hull against me in her prose piece on the conflict, even likening me to an ice cube (or maybe it was iceberg) at one point. Oh, theā€¦

--

--

Michael Burg, MD (Satire Sommelier) šŸ˜¬
The Haven

The ā€œMDā€ & ā€œumā€ in Medium, and the ā€œerā€ in wisenheimer | Doctor Funny editor/czar | Sultan of satire | disgraced former parking lot attendant