Things I Learned From Becoming a Minister Online

Brandon Dockery
The Haven
Published in
4 min readFeb 11, 2022

--

It’s not as easy as I make it look

A dramatic re-enactment of my dark night of the soul after the Fuddrucker’s incident
Photo by Nazim Coskun on Unsplash

One can spend years of their lives immersed in the study of Scripture and intense contemplation of the Divine. These people are called “Reverend”. These people are also called “Nerds” because you can just as easily become a minister from a number of reputable Facebook pages. It took me 5 minutes and $15 to become a legally ordained minister in the state of North Carolina. With over 10 weeks of experience in the field, I’ve learned a lesson or two from divine providence which I shall share with you because, by definition, I am a good person.

  1. Your minister credentials do not get you free things

I made the naive assumption that being a minister was like being a firefighter. Firemen get out of paying for things by hitting the table with an ax and riding off in their loud fire buses. If a spiritual crisis were to arise while I was dining out, I could just throw down my minister card and put it all on the Lord’s tab. Easy peasy. However, it turns out most service industry employees are Protestants who do not believe in transubstantiation, meaning that they don’t believe the Eucharist becomes the actual flesh and blood of Christ when eaten and my Nintendo Power card does not become an actual Jesus license when hurled into the remains of a 3-cheese macaroni plate.

--

--

Brandon Dockery
The Haven

It’s not about the destination, it’s about complaining every step of the way there. Writing published in Slackjaw, Points in Case, The Haven and Robot Butt