Things That Surprised Me About Getting Old

Larrylambert
The Haven
Published in
3 min readMar 26, 2022

--

It got here a lot faster than I expected.

Cartoon by Lambert-King

I got married when I was 20. I had heard that you turn around a couple of times and you’re old. That really has proven to be the case. I remember when I was a kid and we were traveling from Illinois to Oklahoma and wondering if we would ever get there. We eventually did, but it seemingly took forever. When it came to getting old, the trip was exceedingly quick.

So, what’s to be said about this destination, old age? A lot, most of it not good, but it’s not all bad. Here are some discoveries.

1: Our pupils get smaller as we get older.

That’s one of the reasons why we can’t see as well. Ironically, when it comes to school teachers, their pupils are getting larger.

2: By the time a person is 90, the blood pumped by their heart has decreased by 50%.

Actually, by the time most people are 90, the blood pumped by their heart has decreased 100%.

3: As you get older you may actually be happier.

Sometimes we enjoy things we took for granted when we were younger, like breathing.

4: Old people tend to be more…

--

--

Larrylambert
The Haven

You probably don't know my name, but have likely seen my work. I've written for numerous syndicated cartoon strips and my gags have appeared in national pubs.