21 Things You Didn’t Know About Elvis Presley

Larrylambert
The Haven
Published in
4 min readApr 4, 2023

--

His life was even more complex than we thought.

Creative Commons: BudCat14/Ross

I’m not a huge fan of Elvis Presley, but he was an enormously talented man. I basically knew he was married to Priscilla, had a daughter who married Michael Jackson and also starred in some movies.

Obviously, there was a lot more to Elvis than that, so I decided to do a little research on Elvis. I hope you enjoy it.

1: Elvis had a twin who didn’t survive a complicated birth.

Wow, imagine that! If Elvis had a twin, there really would have been a whole lot of shaking going on.

2: Priscilla Beaulieu was 14 when he met Elvis. Elvis was 24.

They married eight years later. It seems kind of tough for a 24-year-old man to date a 14-year-old girl. It’s hard to imagine The King showing up at his girlfriend's junior high prom.

3: The King used shoe polish to make his hair black.

I believe that’s the only thing he and Rudy Giuliani have in common.

4: His breakout hit, “Heartbreak Hotel,” was based on a Kentucky man jumping out of a hotel.

--

--

Larrylambert
The Haven

You probably don't know my name, but have likely seen my work. I've written for numerous syndicated cartoon strips and my gags have appeared in national pubs.