Things You Didn’t Know About F Troop

Larrylambert
The Haven
Published in
3 min readNov 30, 2022

--

I’m not sure this show would have made it today.

Creative Commons: David Shankbone

When I was a kid our TV screens were blessed by the appearance of the alleged comedy, ‘F Troop.” I’ve always liked westerns and comedies too, for that matter, but usually, the combination of the two doesn’t work. A notable exception was the James Garner classic, “Support Your Local Sheriff.” Beyond that, comedic westerns were usually a miss for me. F Troop was no exception.

Beyond not being funny, I don’t know if it could air today. Here’s a look at part of the F Troop theme song:

Where Indian fights are colorful sights
And nobody takes a lickin’
Where pale face and redskin
Both turn chicken.

I suspect that the producers of the show would have to delete the derogatory term and replace it with some term like Commanders. Well, I’m not sure that would work. Beyond that, here are some other things you might not have known about F Troop.

1: Melody Patterson was only 16 when she landed the role Wrangler Jane.

No wonder Capt. Wilton Parmenter was hesitant to push their relationship forward.

2: Larry Storch, aka Corporal Randolph Agarn was…

--

--

Larrylambert
The Haven

You probably don't know my name, but have likely seen my work. I've written for numerous syndicated cartoon strips and my gags have appeared in national pubs.