Things You Didn’t Know About Famous Writers

Larrylambert
The Haven
Published in
3 min readFeb 8, 2022

--

Come to think of it, I know surprisingly few famous writers.

Cartoon by Lambert-King

A while back I did a post about things you didn’t know about William Shakespeare. It occurred to me there must be interesting, little-known facts about other famous writers. Then it occurred to me that I didn’t know very many famous writers. So, after researching famous writers and coming up with little-known facts about them, this is the result. I just hope this doesn’t turn out to be little read facts about little known facts about famous writers.

That last sentence is no doubt the type of crisp, easy-to-understand prose you’ve come to expect from me. And here we go:

1: Mary Shelley started writing Frankenstein when she was 18 and finished it two years later.

The proceeds from the book helped pay for her therapy. Wait, being told that’s not right. Forget that last part.

2: Nathaniel Hawthorne, of The Scarlet Letter fame, helped start a transcendental commune outside of Boston in 1841.

Hawthorne left the commune when it affected his writing. He developed blisters, in part from shoveling mature, and literally had trouble writing.

--

--

Larrylambert
The Haven

You probably don't know my name, but have likely seen my work. I've written for numerous syndicated cartoon strips and my gags have appeared in national pubs.