Things You Didn’t Know About Lyndon Baines Johnson

Larrylambert
The Haven
Published in
3 min readAug 27, 2022

--

Donald Trump wasn’t the only US President who could be crude.

Creative Commons:pingnews.com

Unless we are of a certain age, we might not even know who Lyndon Baines Johnson is. As a quick review, after the assassination of John Kennedy, Lyndon Johnson became the US President. His presidency was marked by some big accomplishments, but also some bizarre behavior.

It seems that Johnson was crude before being crude was cool. So, come along for the ride as I take a look at some things you didn't know about LBJ.

1: Johnson would demean staffers by giving them orders while sitting on the toilet.

In fairness, to Johnson, the inappropriateness of that could depend on the order. For example, “Hey, get me some toilet paper” would not strike me as terribly demeaning.

2: Johnson’s 1948 senate race was notable for a number of reasons.

Johnson went through a lot of laundry during the campaign. He sweated a lot and would sometimes use six shirts a day. He could have probably snagged a laundry detergent commercial.

3: He won his 1948 senate race by 87 votes.

--

--

Larrylambert
The Haven

You probably don't know my name, but have likely seen my work. I've written for numerous syndicated cartoon strips and my gags have appeared in national pubs.