Things You Didn’t Know About New York City

Larrylambert
The Haven
Published in
3 min readOct 17, 2021

--

Some of this stuff may even be accurate.

Creative Commons: Leo-seta

I’m happy to say I’ve visited New York City. And having visited it, I’m happy to say I got out unscathed. It is an amazing place to see. Once again, personal experience and the desire to make a buck converged to produce some research. This time it took the form of putting together unusual New York City facts. I’ll admit to inserting some bogus info in there to keep you alert.

1: It costs up to $289 thousand to get a hot dog stand permit for Central Park.

That puts a lot of pressure on vendors to make back their investment. Those guys have to sell up to ten dogs a year to get their money back. No wonder they get testy when you ask for extra kraut.

2: Flatulence in church can get you slapped with a misdemeanor.

Or it can just plain get you slapped. I guess that is the sort of rude behavior New Yorkers decided to crack down on.

3: And adding to that ill-advised theme, in 2010 38% of all 911 calls were butt calls.

Not to be confused with butt dials, these calls were complaints about somebody’s butt. Either they were showing it or…

--

--

Larrylambert
The Haven

You probably don't know my name, but have likely seen my work. I've written for numerous syndicated cartoon strips and my gags have appeared in national pubs.