Things You Didn’t Know About Roger Moore

Larrylambert
The Haven
Published in
4 min readDec 25, 2022

--

He was more than just people’s unfavorite James Bond.

Creative Commons: original photo by Allan warren, CC BY-SA 3.0. Crop by Andrew Sherman

There was a brief period in my life where I thought Roger Moore was a better James Bond than Sean Connery. But I got over it. While Moore seemed like the most affable of James Bonds, he didn’t seem up to the action sequences. His movements seemed awkward, and he even had a body double run for him. But at least he didn’t seem like he was going to drop dead from angst like Timothy Dalton.

Actually, I haven’t watched a lot of Roger Moore’s work, but that seems like more of an oversight on my part rather a criticism of what Moore has done. So, I’ll look up some information on Roger Moore and maybe find some stuff he’s done that I’d like to watch.

1: He played Bret, Brent and Bart Maverick’s cousin Beau Maverick in the popular TV series.

As we shall see, his playing a character named Beau seemed to foreshadow his personal life.

2: In the early 50s, Roger modeled knitwear products in print ads. He also did some toothpaste ads.

Those knitwear ads earned him the nickname “The Big Twit.” Oops, sorry, that should be “The Big Knit.” Yeah, that makes a lot more sense.

--

--

Larrylambert
The Haven

You probably don't know my name, but have likely seen my work. I've written for numerous syndicated cartoon strips and my gags have appeared in national pubs.