Thoughtful Prison Gifts

When your best friend is headed to the slammer and you don’t want to seem inconsiderate

Justine Reed
The Haven

--

1. Pay for Her Lunch

This is exactly what I did today. My friend told me she was headed to jail tomorrow. To serve time for her DUI. So I grabbed the check and told her lunch was on me. Somehow this felt completely inadequate.

2. Woolly Socks

She quipped that it was better than socks. I wondered if this what other friends had given her.

3. Correspondence

Everyone agrees that prisoners need to hear from their loved ones. My bestie explained that she won’t have access to Facebook (no WiFi in the cooler) so I’m sending her photo copies of my posts while she’s incarcerated.

4. Toiletries

I figured looking cute in jail had to be better than the alternative. I binge-watched Orange is the New Black to confirm this.

5. Phone Credits

I was informed that phone calls are a privilege, costing upwards of $5 per minute. Since I’m so considerate, I sacrificed my lattes for the week and prepaid my girl’s account with enough time to call me for manicure advice.

--

--

Justine Reed
The Haven

Divorced single mum ~ Gen-X business owner with an MBA I’m not using ~ Basically getting by on sarcasm and fumes