Through the infinite hallway.

Eric Filipkowski
The Haven
Published in
7 min readJun 27, 2022

--

Adventures in Scrabble Game Night.

Woo woo! I’m tripping!

When I was a kid, some neighbors of ours had one of those bathrooms where the vanity had mirrors on either side of the sink, parallel and opposite to each other. It was a 70’s thing, I guess.

When you looked to the side of you, you saw the reflection of the other mirror, which created an infinite hallway effect. I always thought this was really cool and I would spend 20–30 minutes in there, trying to move my head really fast so that I could see around my own reflection, repeated thousands of times down this tunnel of light.

My parents would bang on the door, telling me that my dinner was getting cold and I was being rude to our hosts, but I didn’t care. I barely even heard them. I was in my own world, wondering what the houses in those bathrooms looked like, what the other Erics did for fun. Maybe the dad in parallel dimension number six let his son have a dog!

Eventually, my parents had a falling out with these people, probably because they were sick of inviting me over and having me spend hours in their bathroom. I grew up and forgot all about that infinite hallway.

That is, until I was at a party, a few years ago.

I went to take a piss and halfway through, I looked over at the sink and saw it. They had one too! I was so excited…

--

--

Eric Filipkowski
The Haven

One of the lowest-rated writers on the site. Marfan Syndrome/stroke survivor comedy Writer — South Park, SpongeBob, Skizzleplex, 2 Dumb Dinos.