Top 10 TV Western Series from the 50s and 60s

Larrylambert
The Haven
Published in
4 min readMay 18, 2022

--

By the top ten, I mean my favorites.

Creative Commons: tvm1340

During the 50s and 60s westerns were the dominant genre on TV. Some were better than others. Some of the best had extremely long runs and eventually found their way into syndication where they are still enjoyed by geezers like me till this day.

I’ve made a list of my 10 favorites, limiting them to ones they were created in the 50s and 60s. I really don’t care for most of the recent efforts in the genre, with the exception of Longmire, which I really enjoyed. So, here we go with the countdown of my 10 favorite TV westerns.

10: The Big Valley

Generally speaking, not spellbinding but a solid western. The Barkley family showed even rich people could have problems. The three Barkley men, Jared, Nick and Heath displayed diverse personalities, with Nick being the most volatile.

As the matriarch of the clan, Barbara Stanwyck had a chance to chew up some scenery, while her daughter Audra, played by Linda Evans honed her skill of looking pretty.

9: Cimarron Strip

Besides sounding like something that would go good with a baked potato and a salad, Cimarron Strip was a pretty decent western. Stuart Whitman played Marshall Jim Crown and the show had a great opening…

--

--

Larrylambert
The Haven

You probably don't know my name, but have likely seen my work. I've written for numerous syndicated cartoon strips and my gags have appeared in national pubs.