Top 11 Famous Literary Fast Food Orders

Scott Stavrou
The Haven
Published in
2 min readDec 28, 2017

--

When you’ve got a little hunger for the classics…

(Pictures by Aleks Dorohovich & Vanessa Serpas via Unsplash)

Taco Bell
A Burrito Supreme. Oh, and a gorgonzola cheese sandwich and a glass of burgundy. Yes, I said, yes.
Leopold Bloom

In-N-Out Burger
I’ll have a Double-Double, Animal style, a chocolate shake and perhaps seven volumes full of painfully evocative madeleine cookies off the not-so-secret menu.
Marcel Proust

Panera
This line has been a long sentence. Really un pain. I’d just like some bread, please.
Jean Valjean

Wendy’s
A Spicy Chicken Wrap, baked potato, and a large bowl of chili. Really large. Larger, even. Please, sir, I want some more.
Oliver Twist

McDonald’s
I’m hungry as a tiger. I could eat a blind French castaway. Give me a Double Quarter Pounder. Oh, and a Filet-o-Fish.
Richard Parker, Life of Pi

Jack in the Box
Gimme a Jumbo, Jack, plain. Nothing phony on it, for crissakes. I hate phonies. Don’t even get me started, Jack.
Holden Caulfield

Pizza Hut
Hawaiian Pizza but instead of pineapple, can you make it with Canned Pears? That should taste just like the post-apocalypse. To go. We’ll eat it at the bunker.
Cormac McCarthy, Eating On the Road

Arby’s
Smokehouse Brisket Sandwich with a Dry Martini and extra wit. For here. I’ll eat it at the Round Table.
Dorothy Parker

McDonald’s
I’ll have the Big Mac Menu. Supersize it. Oh, and a kid’s meal for the little girl.
Humbert Humbert

KFC
Give me the 16-piece feast. Make it short. And snappy. And to go. I’d like it moveable.
Ernest Hemingway

Dunkin’ Donuts
I would that I shall exit stage-left, pursued by two dozen bear claws, so that there shall be more cakes and ale.
William Shakespeare

(Special promotion: get a free side salad with every order of family-size claps)

If you’re not full yet, you might enjoy:

Scott Stavrou is the author of Losing Venice, a novel

--

--

Scott Stavrou
The Haven

Writer (Losing Venice, a novel) & Writing Coach | American abroad | PEN Hemingway Award | ScottStavrou.com | http://bit.ly/LosingVenice