MEMORY LANE MEANDERINGS

Top 3 Times My Sister Thought I Was Gay

And I’m not even counting the Jared Leto body pillow.

Joe Bee
The Haven
Published in
5 min readApr 2, 2024

--

Photo by Taylor Deas-Melesh on Unsplash

I don’t have any brothers.

I only have a sister who is pretty close to my age, and over the years, we’ve shared many memories.

The loss of grandparents, divorce, high school, Thailand, moving, a haunted house, and a handful of misunderstandings that made her question my sexuality.

I’ve had my doubts, but I’m pretty sure I’m straight. I think the cornerstone of a well-examined life is the courage to challenge yourself.

There have been a couple of Olympics where I had some thoughts while watching men’s swimming, but what are we even doing if one can’t appreciate the wet male form at its physical peak?

I mean, every guy in his early forties felt something when he watched “Fight Club,” for the first time, but we were young, and that was a collective moment of sexual confusion.

During the 1990s, I attended a non-denominational Christian school. Homosexuality was frowned upon. Couple that with the school being smack dab in the middle of Jesus country, Baton Rouge, Louisiana, any sign of gayness was quickly identified and prayed away.

--

--