Top Things I Love About Ted Lasso

David Volk
The Haven
Published in
4 min readDec 1, 2021

--

It’s A Sport Show That’s Not Really About Sports

You’ve got to love a sports comedy show that’s more about shortbread and relationships than it is about, you know, actual sports. Rottentomatoes.com

Although many people are just now waking up to the brilliance that is Ted Lasso, a sports show that is about so much more than just sports. I have been watching it since the beginning of Apple TV Plus’s streaming service and even got my wife to watch with me only to have her like it much more than I expected. And why not? When it has all these things going for it…

No Actual Lasso-Ing

This is a beautiful picture of a man, a horse and a lasso, but it has absolutely nothing to do with Ted Lasso. Still, it’s nice to enjoy a pretty photo now and again. Photo by Priscilla Du Preez on Unsplash

There’s not a single cowboy in sight in the show — Dallas or otherwise. Especially not Dallas.

Swearing. Lots and Lots of Fucking Swearing.

I don’t know if I could have put it any better if I’d tried. Photo by Etienne Girardet on Unsplash

This is either a good enough reason for it to be an adults only show or a way to make yourself look in cool in front of your teens who will learn important life lessons about relationships because they’re surrounded by words like Fuck and Twat. The only trouble is, if you watch it with your kids, you have to…

--

--

David Volk
The Haven

I’m a Seattle-based freelancer and humorist who loves goofy humor, politics and pot stirring, if you know what I mean.