HISTORICAL HUMOR

Unrecorded Famous Last Words

“O Captain! my Captain! You’re standing on my oxygen tube.”

R.D. Zaharako
The Haven
Published in
3 min readNov 30, 2021

--

The Death of Chatterton by Henry Wallis via Wikicommons

Karl Marx’s famous last words were, “Last words are for fools who haven’t said enough.” But these famous fools’ dying words were lost to history… until now.

Molière
“Art imitates life. Irony imitates death.”

Nostradamus
“I should have seen this coming.”

Mark Twain
“Reports of my death are not exaggerated.”

Marie Antoinette
“What, no cake?”

William Wallace
“Freedom… is overrated!”

Alexander the Great
“I don’t feel so great.”

Walt Whitman
“O Captain! my Captain! You’re standing on my oxygen tube.”

Ché Guevara
“The revolution will be decided by he who sells the most tee shirts.”

Ludwig van Beethoven
“I’m da-da-da-DONE!”

Harry Houdini
“What a punch to the gut this is.”

--

--

R.D. Zaharako
The Haven

U.S. Marine (95-99)| U of Texas grad | Clio Key Art Award-winning copywriter | Support my writing by becoming a Medium Member! https://bleedingmarine.medium.com