What MLB Figures Will Never Say (A Brief Respite From Pro Baseball’s Tropes, Cliches, and Evasions)

R.D. Ronstad
The Haven
Published in
2 min readMay 17, 2023
Photo by Marija Zaric at Unsplash

Players

We’ve got the third or fourth best fans in all of baseball.

It is what it is. I don't know what that means exactly, but I couldn't think of a better answer.

Sometimes I give 99%.

I never doctored a baseball until I completed my internship, if you know what I mean.

My new walkup song: "Toccata and Fugue in D minor"

We couldn't have done it without the centerfield camera.

Whenever I purposely hit a batter with a pitch, it somehow ends up being unintentional. Talk about irony!

I don’t worry about things I can’t control, like getting traded or getting benched or being sent down or worrying about things I can’t control.

Your money offer is more than generous, but I can’t endorse your product. I’ve never used it, so that would be misleading.

Others

Bat boy: I work eight or nine hours a day. I wash uniforms, clean dugouts (yuch!), run all around the field shagging balls, bats, equipment and passing out positioning cards to fielders when a new pitcher comes in; work till daybreak unpacking and cleaning whenever the team returns from a road trip. And that’s not a complete list! Plus, I’m 27 years old and my job title is "Bat Boy!" Yet after all that I get paid a measly nine dollars an hour! I’m beginning to think the privilege of cleaning Mike Trout’s cleats is not enough to make it all worthwhile.

Home plate umpire: Umm…

Team Manager: We’ve dug ourselves such a big hole, I wish we could play the rest of our games none at a time.

General Manager: We're not all that excited about our first round draft pick. Drafting 30th sucks.

Team Owner: We can't go past the luxury tax threshold this year. I just bought a new superyacht.

Team owner: What's with this antitrust exemption anyway? This is 2022, not 1922!

Commissioner: We shut down spring training during collective bargaining because we were in a snit.

.

.

--

--

R.D. Ronstad
The Haven

R.D. Ronstad writes mostly humor pieces and poetry. His work appears at many online sights including Defenestration and Points in Case. He lives in Phoenix, Az.