Where Things Get Interesting

Molly Henderson
The Haven
Published in
4 min readFeb 24, 2020

--

Image courtesy of Welcome Images

I’m about to flush the toilet. Here’s where things get interesting: I’m a Medieval English chambermaid, and you’re about to walk right underneath my second-story window.

I picked up the tab. Here’s where things get interesting: right after I picked it up, I dropped it. Now I’m four hours into a cosmic journey, and my ego just seeped out of my ears.

I snagged tickets for the Billie Eilish concert! Here’s where things get interesting: I was really stoned when I bought them, and accidentally purchased tickets for the Billie Eilish yodelling cover band.

Even though I’m full, I’m still snacking on the fries I ordered! Here’s where things get interesting: instead of saying, “I’m only eating these because they’re right in front of me,” I’m going to say, “I’m only eating these because they’re delicious potatoes! I definitely wouldn’t be eating them if they were little curls of birch bark or ballpoint pen caps,” which is a much more interesting remark to make than the first thing.

I’m currently working out at the YMCA. Here’s where things get interesting: YMCA stands for Yugoslav Matrons of Corrales, Albuquerque, and the thing I’m attempting to work out is why on earth this organization exists, and what the hell I’m doing in Albuquerque.

--

--

Molly Henderson
The Haven

humor writer, editor, tinker, tailor, solider, spy. more at: mollyhenderson.ca