Who Invited You?

Pat Romito LaPointe
The Haven
Published in
1 min readFeb 20, 2022
https://unsplash.com/photos/zhjWBFtL2lU?

My husband told me his secretary and her family had nowhere to go for Thanksgiving dinner. She is one of the sweetest, nicest women I know. Her husband is a great guy and I’ve loved the times when they brought their kids over to swim in our pool.

I was so excited to be able to invite her. I sent her a text message:

“You are just like family, and we’d love it if you would join the rest of the family for dinner. You can’t say no. This is the boss’s wife inviting you. Do you all like turkey and pork roast? Would the kids like mac-n-cheese? We’ll be starting at 2:00PM with dinner at 3:00.”

Ten minutes later I got a text:

“I don’t know who you are, but if you send me your address, I’ll be there by 2:00 on Thanksgiving. I’ll bring the wine!”

--

--

Pat Romito LaPointe
The Haven

A lover of life stories, often finding humor in them. Refuse to take life too seriously. Appreciate out of the ordinary tales and those that inform.