Why Medium didn’t pay me the $500 bonus

The story behind the investigation

Stuart Grant
The Haven

--

Police investigation barricade
Photo by Macau Photo Agency on Unsplash

Our platform’s founder Ev Williams has released a torrent of blogflation on the Medium world with a round of $500 bonuses. Not only will this drive up the cost of claps, follows and comments, a consumer price index spike is surely to follow. I could go on about how this cash injection will work its way through the economy like free drugs through a nightclub but I’m here to champion a much more important cause today — me.

A Bad Case of Bonus Envy

Seemingly, I am the only person in the Medium universe who didn’t receive the $500 bonus. And no, I am not OK with that. Especially when I see the army of piffle merchants getting rewarded for polluting the blogosphere with their cyber spam.

There are now enough articles by those who received the bonus to start a related publication. Submissions are now being accepted for “I Got The $500 and You Didn’t”. Guidelines include uploading Instagram style photos of you and pals gloating from luxury cars and pleasure boats like some millennial gangster. Medium t-shirt optional.

Feeling miffed, I went to the Medium help line to call for an investigation into my non-payment. The Medium help line folks were not very co-operative but are blessed with a sense of humor…

--

--

Stuart Grant
The Haven

disparate parts coalescing toward a greater meaning in the pursuit of a fully realized life