Writing with a sixteen-pound cat on my lap

Cats of Kansas City
The Haven
Published in
2 min readJun 10, 2023
Frankie dreaming of simpler times.

My laptop sits to my left because my lap is spoken for.

Typing at this angle is permanently curving my spine, destroying any chance I had at softball superstardom. Eventually friends and family will call me frail and fragile behind my bent back, and I will have to convince my wife that I am perfectly capable of getting my own cup of Constant Comment.

Writing at home isn’t as inspiring as writing at a Paris café. No berets, no baguettes, no dog turds on the ground, but plenty of cat hairs on my keyboard and in my mouth. When I talk, the fur flies like Tweety ate Sylvester.

I’ll be here for a while. Getting up, disturbing him, would be a heinous, unforgivable act. If it were up to me, I would have gotten something to drink an hour ago. Maybe started dinner. Definitely would have used the restroom. I share the worries I have about my bladder with my primary care physician.

Frankie eventually leaves, but it is a while before I notice. The carpet of fur he leaves behind works as a feline hologram, fooling me for a good ten minutes. Also, I have lost feeling in the lower half of my body.

He’ll be back shortly. I can hear him flinging cat litter around in the other room, so I best get up while I have the chance.

--

--