Why Kids need Summer Camp

Gabriela Paczkowska
The Healthy City 2018 Spring
16 min readMay 16, 2018

“Camp is a safe space that you can go to where, no matter who you are or how you act, people love you and want the best for you.” — Scarlett Rice, counselor at Camp Flaming Arrow

One week might not seem like a long time, but that is how long the sessions are at YMCA Camp Flaming Arrow. The first Sunday when the kids arrive, there is a nervous energy as kids wait to see where they would be place for the week. However, there is a different vibe happening on that Saturday compared to that Sunday after kids spend a week at camp. On that last day, kids are singing songs, exchanging numbers and social media accounts and laughing with their new friends they didn’t know a week before, adorned with new friendship bracelets and a tan that may look like a sunburn at a certain angle. Knowing what I have seen on my years on staff and what I have experienced as a camper, kids come out of camp excited about the activities they did, the memories they’ve made, and wishing they had just a few more days at their new favorite place. For those who have experienced camp, they most likely would argue that kids need camp. Kids need camp for many reasons, but in a world that is becoming increasingly more concerned with other aspects, kids can take a week at camp to just be a kid.

Most often kids spend a lot of time focused on video games and social media at home. The amount of screen time at school and home is only going up. In a study done by UCLA, a sample of 6th graders noted that they spend an average of 4 hours a day in front of a screen (Summers, 2014). When a kid arrives at camp, Camp forces them to disconnect and interact. Kids need to play outside and camp exposes them to the natural world. They are exposed to a much simpler, healthier environment, which they might not get at home. Studies have proven that children gain knowledge experientially, through play, experimentation exploration and discovery (Adams, 2016). Research also shows that many of the important tasks that children must accomplish, which includes exploring, risk-taking, fine and gross motor development and the absorption of large amounts basic knowledge, can be most productively learned through outdoor play (Adams, 2016). While kids could easily go to a park for a few hours or maybe go to the pool in the summer, camp offers an uninterrupted, supportive environment to have outdoor play through all the activities that are offered, like archery, high ropes, hiking, horseback riding, etc. Youth having the choice and chance to experience nature and cultivate a perceptual connection to the environment is important (Adams, 2016). With time spent in the natural environment, kids learn to appreciate and respect what is around them and begin to develop more environmentally friendly ideas (Bennett, 2017). In this setting of endless activities, connections with teamwork and nature are created (Bennett,2017). Kids have to learn to be patient as they wait for someone else to finish the activity, be encouraging when their cabin mates might be reluctant to do an activity, and work together as a cabin in certain moments where they might have to do a skit together or complete an activity for an evening program. Through living together throughout the time they are together, kids learn how to live and work well with others who are not their family. It has been noted that those in business and higher education who are able to work and interact well with others are most often regarded to be more successful in life (Wallace,2016). It’s not to say other areas of their life can’t do the same for them, but those that go to camp are almost required to work and interact with others with the help of their counselors because that is how camp is structured. Put more simply, camp is a place where kids can experience fun, laughter, wonder and joy (Bennett, 2017). Whatever background they are coming from, kids get to throw that out the window and be a kid. Children and Teens are set up better for the future because of the experiences and skills that they gain at camp.

“Kids need summer camp because it provides the right blend of new experiences and old friendships in a supportive environment to truly learn who they are as people.”- Hannah Kay, counselor and camper at Greene Family Camp

Camp enables children to grow to be caring, contributing contributing, successful successful members of society as they learn new skills and build character and self esteem. 7.1 million children and teens go to camp, with 300,000 young adults working at the 2,4000 camps accredited by the American camp Association, where they thrive in “caring communities” (Sibthorp and Wilson, 2017). These communities are based on many principles like support, respect, friendship, empathy, compassion and produce visible benefits from independence, self-confidence, leadership, and social skills (Sibthorp and Wilson, 2017). In the camp environment, kids easily follow the lead of their camp counselor and leaders who mirror these traits that are exhibited. In return, they become co-operative, caring and considerate members of the camp community (Canadian Camping Association, 2012). Camp increases social connections as kids can learn how to resolve conflicts in a positive manner (Canadian Camping Association, 2012). What they develop at camp are traits they can use outside of camp. These attributes down the line create a smooth transition out of high school and into college (Pediatrics, 2011). Camp also allows kids to experiment with both success and failure (Sibthorp and Wilson, 2017). Contextual attributes such as flexible programming, empathy from staff, transient social spaces, and welcoming practice opportunities makes camp a perfect setting for youth to learn from the balance of success and failure experiences (Scanlin, Marge, et. al, 2006). In a situation where a child might be afraid of high ropes, completing the task because of the reassuring staff and space allows for confidence to grow. However, if the child doesn’t complete it, staff can help take that rejection and turn it into something positive. Trying and completing tasks at camp can help kids to see anything is possible. However, in the moment where they might not be able to complete something, the group can help embolden the child who learn that at camp, they will always have people rooting for them. When kids leave, parents and staff in a survey done by ACA have noted a change in self-esteem, independence, leadership, friendship skills, social comfort, peer relations, adventure-seeking and exploration, environmental awareness, positive values, healthy decision-making, and spirituality in their campers (Scanlin, Marge, et. al, 2006). The campers themselves had reported an improvement within themselves in these areas (Scanlin, Marge, et. al, 2006). While it should be noted that not every child has seen a significant change, there is enough evidence that change does happen after kids leave camp. Camping is only gaining speed in the United States as it has grown from one camp in 1861 to 12,000 camps to this day (Scanlin, Marge, et. al, 2006).

Studies have been done to test the effects of camp. Dr. Troy Glover published a 5 year study title The Canadian Summer Camp Research Project in 2011 where the outcomes of summer camp participation were explored. The results showed that “participation promoted positive changes in 5 key areas of development- social integration and citizenship, environmental awareness, attitudes towards physical activity, emotional intelligence and self-confidence and personal development” (Canadian Camping Association, 2012). The American Camp Association, with the help from researchers at the University of Utah, is in the process of a 5 phase youth impact study where they are working to identify and pinpoint outcomes of the camp experience in those who are now adults who attended camp as a child (Canadian Camping Association, 2012). Other factors they are looking into are how camp experiences compare to other areas of children’s lives like school and sports, how kids that go to camp use their experiences in work and school and what goes on at camp to facilitate development as kids leave (Canadian Camping Association, 2012). While the study is not finalized, based from the phase one of the study through surveys, ACA has found that camp plays a key role in refining relationship skills and plays a big part in youth’s overall learning (Canadian Camping Association, 2012). Their findings have shown that camp is a safe place to find out who they are and how they want others to view them (American Camping Association, 2018 ). Campers get the opportunity to be around people who differ from them in attitudes, values, and abilities (American Camping Association, 2018). These findings show that this is being accomplished through variable program structures and ways of functioning that are different from their normal, daily routines that include learning from experiences in certain blocks of time, interact with staff that serve as leaders and role models and small group experiences (American Camping Association, 2018). In the study done by UCLA, which was noted above, the effects of screen time and the ability to recognize emotions were looked at (Summers, 2014). Two groups were studied from a Southern California public school. One group had their electronic devices taken away as they spent time at an outdoor education camp and the other group continued their usual screen time, which was 4 hours a days (Summers, 2014). After 5 days, the group that went to camp scored higher on a test where the kids had to read facial expressions and nonverbal cues (Summers, 2014). Their time at camp helped improve their ability to recognize emotions (Summers, 2014). These are a few of the many studies being done where the effects of camp are being recognized.

“I think the best thing kids get from camp is a bit of independence. Camp is the only place that I can think of that lets kids get away from their parents for extended periods of time and learn how to handle themselves. Camp is also such a place of love where everyone is appreciated.” — Tommy Anthony, counselor at Rio Vista Camp

To get a better idea of why kids need camp, I embarked on some interviews with professionals that have been in the camping world for years. Wendy Mieske is the executive director at YMCA Camp Flaming Arrow, which is the camp that I have worked at for 3 years. Although she and I know each other really well, she has worked in the camping world for 25 years. Wendy is the perfect embodiment of a camp person and I contacted her to get her insight on the camp life. The first thing we discussed was how she ended up working at camp. She first worked at a camp offered by Western Michigan University that was catering to kids with speech disabilities. Wendy worked there for a few summers and loved it. She thought that she fell in love with speech pathology so she went back to school and changed her major. The camp closed down so she went to work at a YMCA Camp in ’95. This is where she realized it wasn’t speech pathology that she was in love with, it was camp. After graduation, she went ahead and started working at a camp full time and Wendy realized that she could do this forever and live well. I could support myself and my family and do what I love at the same time, said Wendy. Her time at camp helped Wendy come out of her shell. “When I started working at camp, camp pushed me and forced me to open myself up and open myself up to let people get to know me.” Wendy also gained leadership skills. “Starting out I developed leadership skills as a counselor where I had to learn how to lead kids and lead them in activities. As I moved up and moved into different roles, I built upon those skills and became a different kind of leader. Each job had a different responsibility and I had to fit into the role with whatever was needed for it,” explained Wendy. When I asked her why should kids go to summer camp, Wendy emphasized a few reasons. “Kids should go to camp because they learn social skills, independence and most importantly they are forced to live in the moment because they don’t have any devices or other things that suck them in. Camp is also a great equalizer for all kids. There is a level playing field when kids from different backgrounds come to camp and I think Y camps do that the best. Camp brings them all together and it doesn’t matter where you come from. It just matters that you are here. Kids can go back to the world after a week with the skills that they gained and use what they have learned here.” Knowing that Wendy has seen a lot of young adults come in and out of her camps in the summer, with me being a part of 3 of them, I asked her why should someone work at camp and this is what she had to say. “We always tell our counselors that they are going to have the hardest job in these 8 weeks. Our job as year long staff is hard, but it is more rewarding than anything else ever. Nothing compares to what we do at camp. It is hard work and you are not going to make a lot of money, but the emotional and social pay off of what we do make the long hours and hard work worth it.” Wendy is the perfect resource to get her opinion on why kids and staff need camp as she has seen the effects for many years and has even sent her own two kids to camp.

The reason I found camp in the first place was because my elementary school sent their 5th graders for a week long trip to a Y camp every year. I loved it so much I begged my parents to send me to that same camp in the summer. Through some connections, I was able to set up an interview with Patrick Fitzgerald, the director of Outdoor Education and the Summer camp program at Mo Ranch in Hunt, Texas. While this is not the camp I attended as a 5th grader, the program is very similar. I started out by asking him how he ended up at camp. Patrick told me that he did not take the traditional route. He started out as a boy scout at a boy scout camp, but did not really do anything with camp after that. Patrick went to the Peace Corps after college where he fell in love with a girl from Texas. He moved to Texas for her and his girlfriend, now wife, started working at Heart O’ the Hills, which is an all girls camp. He asked Jane, the director there, if he could have a job at Heart O’ the Hills and she told him to check out Mo Ranch. Once Patrick checked it out, he decided to get a job as an outdoor education instructor in 93’ but he had no idea what he was going to do after that. He was there for about 3 or 4 months when they asked him to be director of the outdoor education program. Patrick calls it “being at the right place at the right time”. He had no idea he could make a career out of it. Over the years, he grew into the job. Over time, he hired a camp director, grew a camp program and eventually a day camp program was formed. When I asked him about his time at camp, Patrick said, “The things I am learning now are different from when I started. I have really developed my leadership and people skills over the years. I also really enjoy getting a new group and helping them plan their time here. At the beginning when I started this job, I did not really have any planning skills. Over the years, I have really enjoyed being able to look at the problem from many sides or different angles and I have enjoyed drawing on my own experiences to help my instructors.” Patrick seemed to stress one thing about what he has learned at camp. “The things that use to tick me off do not anymore. I have learned to focus on the important stuff and what matters. I have learned to let things go. I am focused on giving the marching orders to my instructors and the direction of where I want them to go, but I take a step back and allow them to do their jobs. They appreciate that freedom. I am a big believer in disappearing and letting them figure it out. I try not to say no to my instructors.” When I asked him why kids should go to camp, his answer seemed to closely mirror Wendy’s answer. “Once a kid leaves camp, they might not ever shoot an arrow again, but they will need to know how to talk to someone. The situations we put kids into at camp are skills that they will have to use as adults. Kids from different background have to learn to get a long and camp exposes kids to see things they might not ever get to see as a kid. Camp teaches kids to accept someone for no matter what they look like and to not judge other people. Because of that, down the line they will be a better person. We as camp professionals get to plant that seed of confidence and trust in these kids. We have the unique opportunity to do that at camp.” Patrick and Wendy are a few of many who have seen the magic of camp summer after summer for many years and are still an active force in making kids’ time at camp the best parts of their summers. While I have never met Patrick face to face, Wendy and Patrick both talk about camp with so much enthusiasm and love for what they do that I am sure if a parent ever had any hesitation about sending a kid to camp, they would be a calming and convincing presence to the doubters.

Drawing on my own experience, eleven years ago I was a really quiet girl who was afraid of social interaction. I was someone who was insecure, afraid to approach new people and would have never thought to go up and speak in front of a large crowd. I was lucky enough that my parents were convinced to take me to YMCA Camp Cullen after I fell in love with camp after going for a few days with my elementary school and my world was changed. People might think that one week is not a long time, but through years of forced friendship and encouraging young adults, I began to blossom into a more social person. I was so hooked on the magic of camp I went on to be an LIT and CIT at camp. Though these years were full of awkward interactions with kids as I tried to figure out how to best interact with them, I got a taste of what it would be like to be a counselor. While camp as a camper is amazing, little did I know the best years of my camp experience would be on staff. Through my 3 years on staff, I’ve been able to foster relationships with kids, reinforce rules and standards for life, show them that it’s ok to be yourself and remind them that I am on their side. Through these years, I have pushed myself to be the best counselor I can be for these kids. With these goals in mind, I’ve gained better social and people skills, better problem solving tactics and the experience of being able to be so authentically yourself. Eleven years ago, I would have laughed in your face if you would have told me I would be leading a campfire in front of one hundred fifty people. It’s through my years at camp where I have pushed myself out of my comfort zone to see what I can accomplish. Although there will never be the right words to describe what large of an impact my years of camp had on developing me as a person and a lot of the same words have been used already, I’ll give it a try. As cliche as it may be, I would have never broken out of my cocoon had I not had experienced the purest love and appreciation from my fellow campers and counselors to later on my fellow coworkers and campers. Don’t get me wrong. I still mess up and feel awkward in certain moments. However, it’s through my years of camp that I’ve learned to let it go and go focus on something more fun, like blowing some bubbles by the river with some kids instead.

Now, this article might seem like an advertisement. In a way, I hope it is and that it’s a convincing one because I know that I, and the people I interviewed and so many more, feel so strongly about the place we get to call home for ten weeks in a summer that we want others to experience it too. Now instead of drilling in more reasons of why kids should go to camp, I’ll leave you with a testimony from a camper turned counselor, Priscilla Garza from T Bar M Camps.

“I have been both a receiver and a giver of the summer camp experience. As a kid, my camper experience exposed me to activities I had never done before. My days were filled with archery,canoeing and kayaking, the ropes course, fort building and many other outdoor recreations. Safety, teamwork and problem solving were skills I subconsciously learned as I shot an arrow with a bow, built a sustainable castle with sticks and twigs, and strived for the top of the rock wall. My most memorable childhood experiences are from the hands-on activities I did at summer camp. I truly cherish these memories. During my high school camp experience, I gained life-long friends as I crammed into a non air-conditioned cabin with 9 other girls for a week. It was my first time ever being surrounded by girls who intentionally sought to know me and my story. I experienced great spiritual growth as I was forced to retreat from distractions of the outside world and purely focus on my relationships, my identity and my faith. My experience as a camp counselor allowed me to create a safe space of vulnerability for the girls in my cabin. I strived to empathize with my campers, making them feel known, heard and not alone. Through the difficulties I had the privilege of encouraging my campers to press in. I was there, by their side, every step of the experience. I strongly believe kids need to experience summer camp. Camp stretches a child out of their comfort zone and into a zone of growth. I gained valuable skills, lasting friendships and a passion for people all because of summer camp. My summers were filled with laughter, light and love that make me the person I am today.”

--

--