Love Rush

Letigress
The Heart Of It
Published in
2 min readJan 16, 2018

I saw her from the back, standing there

Tight black jeans and a nice shirt

And her hair, oh gosh her hair

Curls through which my hands would ruffle

Kiss her on the first date, I did not dare

But certainly not for lack of wanting

We chatted away with such ease

And bantered like our rapport was old

While waiting for the start of the movies

Then she grabbed me a second popcorn

And this certainly did please

It was a simple yet sweet action

We talked all through the evening

It all felt new and yet familiar

The intense attraction was burning

As was the mental connection we felt

It was one of all or nothing

The flame had certainly been lit

She had piqued my interest

I felt the rush of amazing adrenalin

Self control put to the test

Our pheromones dancing wildly

We were going on this new quest

To see where this energy would take us

It wasn’t long before I said I love you

She was beautiful, spiritual and sweet

We were on similar paths of growth too

I was so easily hooked like on a drug

Of passion that continued to brew

As the days and weeks went on

Yet, there came an unfortunate time

When I realised she was full of drama

And some stories just did not rhyme

I did not want to realise the issue

That love rush had coloured me blind

That we were just not meant to be

--

--