Walking Away

Letigress
The Heart Of It
Published in
2 min readNov 13, 2018

If I could turn and walk away

There’s nothing more left to say

I gave it all, yes I did

But it wasn’t enough for you

I could tell the time it snapped

Shocked me like a bolt of lightning

The realisation it wasn’t to be

Opened up my eyes and I could see

I carry the love we once shared

And know that you once cared

But now it’s over and I begin again

Moving forward in the way I know how

Looking for a rebound oh yes I am

Throw in the towel and walk in the sand

Who knows what is around the corner

But I know I can find the whole of me

Now I’m free to find my own way

Making the most of each and every day

Walking the bumpy road by myself

Looking to find my own true self

I know what will be will be

And I can live a life true to me

I’m turning and I’m walking away

There’s nothing more to really say

We had our time, we had our fun

And now it’s over and all done

I know it’s my choice to call it quits

I was just blown away, blown to bits

You told stories, I worked it out

I wondered what you were all were about

Yes I’m turning on my heel

No longer do I want to feel

I can listen to your stories anymore

One day we might cross paths, one day

And everything might be fine, I pray

But for now I can’t see you, hear you

It takes too much toll on me

I think we’re better not in two

Now I’m free to find my own way

Making the most of each and every day

Walking the bumpy road by myself

Looking to find my own true self

I know what will be will be

And I can live a life true to me

Now I’m free to find my own way

Yes I’m free to walk away

I know what will be will be

And I can live a life true to me

I know what will be will be

Oh yes I now know what will be will be

--

--