God: The source of Love

Mazhar Khan
The Heart of Quran
Published in
3 min readMay 12, 2019
God: The source of Love — Image Source

I remember 10 years ago, the first time -when- I heard this beautiful attribute for God that He is the source of Love. It touched my heart and soul. As a Muslim since childhood, I have heard many other attributes, that He is Most Gracious, Most Merciful, The Almighty, etc. I have been trying to explore this, God’s Love, ever since. And we all know when we want to seek any knowledge God loves to teach us. [55:1] The Most Gracious. [55:2] Teacher of the Quran.

Falling in love with another human being is a great blessing. It changes our lives. It keeps us motivated, happy and loving. Being in love makes us so happy that treating people around us with love and kindness becomes such an easy process. And when the same relationship breaks, our heart breaks into pieces and the pain stays for weeks, months and for some people it stays that way for years. And in the process we often lose our temper, we stop trusting people, and gradually attracting negative traits becomes an easy process for us to adopt and thus we make life full of despair and grief.

I have gone through both experiences. And the truth is both experiences taught me some great lessons. But in the latter experience, I became much closer to God and we all know when we come closer to our Creator, He has so much love to offer us. A kind of love no one in the entire world could offer us; it makes us feel so special. Thus my journey to explore God’s love started. The number one lesson I learned was it is easy to love God but it’s very difficult to love the human being. Why? It’s easy because God is perfect. He has only good qualities in Him. And it’s difficult to love human beings because human beings are not perfect, they have both good and bad qualities. Unfortunately, we live in a society where we first learn to love human beings and then God. Our priority when it comes to love is not God. The one who is actually our source of Love. And thus we hurt our souls by not learning to love God first.

You get a strange response when you ask your believer friends when was the last time they told God, “I love you, God”. When I asked one of my friends, she smiled and said, “I am not sure if I ever said, that sentence.” Like I said no one teaches us this main fundamental of our being: “To love God the most”. I have started saying this sentence as much as possible, “I love you, God” and “Thank You, God, for loving me”. The more I thank Him for loving me, the more He is going to love me as He promised in the Quran [14:7] Your Lord has decreed: “The more you thank Me, the more I give you.” But if you turn unappreciative, then My retribution is severe. The more the love of God dwells in my heart, the easier it becomes for me to pass to it on to my parents, my siblings, my friends, and God’s other creatures. And thus set a good example for other people. It’s an amazing feeling being loved by God where you do not become dependent on other sources for their love. Because God’s love is like the ocean, which is never going to run out of water! No matter how much water you give away to other people or people take from you there is no scarcity.

May God help us to love Him unconditionally. And also help us to share His love with other people wholeheartedly!

--

--