Choices

Sabah
The Heart of Quran
Published in
1 min readApr 18, 2023
Personal Picture

With every breath I take
I have a choice to make
Do I choose God joyfully
and submit wholeheartedly?

When prices soar
or that item is missing from the store
do I complain and throw a fit
or do I willingly submit?

Over my misfortunes, am I stressing
or do I count God’s innumerable blessings
Do I complain, whine and deviate
or can I be content and appreciate

Am I insisting on my own will
or am I still and seeking God’s will?
Am I preoccupied and filled with anxiety
or am I appreciating God’s amazing variety?

Am I distracted with my affairs
or am I reverent in my prayers?
when I hear Satan’s whispers, do I remember
and seek refuge in God, the Protector?

****

[Quran 16:18] If you count GOD’s blessings, you cannot possibly encompass them. GOD is Forgiver, Most Merciful.

[2:148] Each of you chooses the direction to follow; you shall race towards righteousness. Wherever you may be, GOD will summon you all. GOD is Omnipotent.

Attributes of the Righteous
[3:133] You should eagerly race towards forgiveness from your Lord and a Paradise whose width encompasses the heavens and the earth; it awaits the righteous,

Read more at:
Happiness: Consequence of our Choice
Choices

--

--