Just submit!

Mazhar Khan
The Heart of Quran
Published in
2 min readSep 24, 2023

A couple of weeks ago, I received a message from my best friend asking me to pack my bags and prepare for the Thailand trip. Immediately two things popped into my mind first “Thank you God” and second “Floating in the sea!” Since my friend is a good swimmer and knows the skill of floating in the sea I wanted to learn this skill from him.

After reaching Thailand, we went to an Island. It was very beautiful and luckily the sea was quiet which was good for learning the skill. I know a little bit about swimming, I can swing in a pool but I have never tried swimming the water level above my height. So, there was some fear in my mind. But my heart was all ready to rejoice in the floating experience.

My friend explained to me everything about the floating skill like keeping calm, trying not to panic, tilting your head back, the correct posture, breathing technique and so on. And I understood everything but I kept on failing! At times I would feel like I got it! But then I ended up inhaling water through the nose. Finally, my friend said something that struck my head! He said, “Just submit (to God)!”. And then, within a few minutes, I was floating in the sea! As I was floating, I could feel my entire body submitting to God and my heart was appreciating God for that joyous and miraculous experience.

That day, I was also wondering about life and the challenges it brings. Most of the time I don’t trust God. I think I can solve all of the issues by myself. Thus, I keep on sinking in the sea of problems. How amazing it would be if I could just submit to God like I did in the sea in other challenging life situations too? What an amazing reward it is to submit. God takes over it! And let you enjoy life.

31:22 Those who submit completely to GOD, while leading a righteous life, have gotten hold of the strongest bond. For GOD is in full control of all things.

--

--