Morning Walk and What I Saw

Lisa Spray
The Heart of Quran
Published in
2 min readMar 13, 2023

--

A personal sharing of my walk a while ago

Mountain scene with several female elk in a grassy area between shrubby evergreen trees. Some clouds in the sky.
Some of the female elk I saw near our mountain home — personal photo

As I was walking not long ago at sunrise in the area of our mountain home, I looked to the left, and saw an unusually large herd of mostly full grown elk. They ran in several directions. As the sun rose highlighting the beautiful snow covered mountains surrounding me, I realized again what a blessing it is that God brought us to this beautiful country.

I wish I could share with you the awesomeness of this beauty, which I get to live in by God’s grace!

A few steps farther on my walk I saw three ravens flying in a beautiful formation. Then they were joined by more and soon a whole flock of black ravens flew against beautiful white clouds in a perfectly blue sky.

When the sun rose up through the clouds, I saw the first truck on our road coming towards me. The driver waved as he drove by and we both smiled.

In a few moments I turned down the little road that leads eventually to our cabin. The sun had broken through the clouds and gilded all of the beautiful grasses and the remaining snow and ice in my view.

I wiped my glasses to clear my vision as I began to watch again for the herd of elk as I walked down my road. In the sunshine even the road sparkled with hoar frost and the grasses shone and glittered even more beautifully in the rising sun.

Far off in the distance I saw the herd of elk. I climbed off the road and walked through the woods to try to get closer to the herd without frightening them.

Sunburst coming through a piñon pine tree with snow on the ground to the left and mostly blue sky.
Sunburst coming through a piñon pine tree as I begin heading home — personal photo

I knew the sun would soon melt the icy mud of our road, making it a gooey morass impossible to pass on foot. So I headed home back to our little cabin and breakfast. As I walked, the blessing of living in this beautiful land filled me with joy and thankfulness once again!

--

--

Lisa Spray
The Heart of Quran

I 💕nature, photography, writing & travel. I find deep sharing heals. All with sincere faith are my spiritual family. Editor: The ❤️of Quran. Join us there 🤝.