Ramadan Blessings and the Last 10 Nights

We have so much to be thankful for during this blessed month of Ramadan

Lisa Spray
The Heart of Quran

--

Photo by Milada Vigerova on Unsplash

Salaam (Peace), dear all!

This has been a difficult time for many of us during the worldwide COVID-19 pandemic. However, there is a great deal to be very thankful for every day.

By God’s grace, there are now multiple vaccines available to aid us in the fight against the pandemic. Of course, we know that God alone is the true healer, as Abraham’s wonderful words show from Sura (Chapter) 26 Verses 77–80:

… I am devoted only to the Lord of the universe. / The One who created me, and guided me. / The One who feeds me and waters me. / And when I get sick, He heals me.

We here at The Heart of Quran also are thankful for you, our readers. Without you, the publication would not exist.

However, our greatest thanksgiving goes to God. It is He who provides us with all of the blessings of our modern world, including the ability to participate in the family of readers and writers on Medium.

Even more wonderful, He revealed His final scripture, the Quran, to the prophet Muhammed on the 27th night of Ramadan. For those of us who have chosen to follow this amazing and holy book, it tells us about all of the religious duties of Islam including this most wonderful month of Ramadan as explained in Sura 2 Verse 185:

Ramadan is the month during which the Quran was revealed, providing guidance for the people, clear teachings, and the statute book. Those of you who witness this month shall fast therein. Those who are ill or traveling may substitute the same number of other days. God wishes for you convenience, not hardship, that you may fulfill your obligations, and to glorify God for guiding you, and to express your appreciation.

Two verses later, God tells us that there is a special practice that can be observed during the final ten nights of the month:

Permitted for you is sexual intercourse with your wives during the nights of fasting.… Sexual intercourse is prohibited if you decide to retreat to the masjid (during the last ten days of Ramadan)….

For many of us throughout the world retreating to the masjid (or mosque more people probably know it) is all but impossible during these crazy times. However, Verse 10:87 provides a solution:

We inspired Moses and his brother. “Maintain your homes in Egypt for the time being, turn your homes into synagogues….”

As the Children of Israel had to worship in their homes to avoid the tyranny of Pharaoh, we may need to follow their example during this time when a tiny virus tyrannizes mankind. By God’s infinite mercy, we can maintain intimate contact with our mosque communities using the technology that He has blessed us with. Thus, perhaps even more of us than usual have the opportunity to retreat into more intense concentration on God and His Quran during the final nights and days of Ramadan.

For me, whether or not I am able to retreat, this entire month provides a time of reflection and rejuvenation. When my stomach growls or I feel thirsty, it reminds me of my Creator who “feeds me and waters me” as He did Abraham. I pray that this month will provide you also with reflection and rejuvenation. And that it will help us all come ever closer to God who, as Sura 74 Verse 56 says:

He is the source of righteousness; He is the source of forgiveness.

Congratulations on your fasting and may you be with God always.

--

--

Lisa Spray
The Heart of Quran

I 💕nature, photography, writing & travel. I find deep sharing heals. All with sincere faith are my spiritual family. Editor: The ❤️of Quran. Join us there 🤝.