Spoonful of Blessings

Sana Quercia
The Heart of Quran
Published in
3 min readApr 7, 2024
Ancora, NY- September 23, 2023

Let me tell you about my journey as a devout food lover.

From a young age, I was the foodie of all foodies. Picture me, a little kid, bouncing around the school playground, peeking into lunchboxes like a treasure hunter. I am an Indian, and so every box opened was a new adventure, but, that’s not even the best part.. My classmates, even those I barely spoke to, would happily share their food with me, lighting up with smiles or laughter whenever I gave their meals a thumbs up.

However, when it comes to cooking, let’s just say, the Lord decided to sprinkle my path with a bit more… challenge. My family often marvels at my ability to turn a sweet dish into a bitter one. Despite the mantra of “a cup of this, a teaspoon of that,” I’m convinced that a mystery ingredient called ‘skill’ was left out of my pantry.

Then, there was the miracle of the cupcakes. Once I baked cupcakes so divine, so out of my ordinary, that I half-expected to turn around and see an angel dusting flour off their wings in my kitchen. I couldn’t believe how wonderful they turned out to be.

My Kitchen, NY, November 15, 2020

I’ve come to see this comedic culinary journey of mine as a blessing in disguise. A playful nudge from God reminding me to appreciate the wonders of creation — especially those that come from someone else’s kitchen. It brings to mind the story of Abraham, who, upon receiving unexepected guests, instructed his family to prepare a fat calf. Despite his apprehension when the guests did not eat, Abraham’s generosity shone through, demonstrating kindness and compassion towards strangers.

(Quran 51:24) Have you noted the history of Abraham’s honorable guests?

(Quran 51:25) They visited him, saying, “Peace.” He said, “Peace to you, strangers!”

(Quran 51:26) He asked his family to prepare a fat calf.

(Quran 51:27) When he offered it to them, he remarked, “Do you not eat?”

Countless efforts and love is poured into each dish before it reaches the table, and because of my own kitchen mishaps, I cherish these efforts all the more.

Perhaps even more touching were the times when hardship visited our doorstep. Times when my mom was sick, the outpouring support from our neighbors was nothing short of a miracle. Three meals a day, prepared with care and delivered with prayers, arrived at our door.

I may not be a very good cook, but I’ve learned something very special from it.. sometimes, the blessings, come not from what we can do, but what others do for us. And I appreciate every single one of them. Thank you GOD!

Signs of GOD

(Quran 36:33) One sign for them is the dead land: we revive it and produce from it grains for their food.

(Quran 36:34) We grow in it gardens of date palms, and grapes, and we cause springs to gush out therein.

(Quran 36:35) This is to provide them with fruits, and to let them manufacture with their own hands whatever they need. Would they be thankful?

--

--

Sana Quercia
The Heart of Quran

Hot coco & the sound of rain..a world of dreams waiting to be unveiled. Who am I in all of this?I know not!..but if u do..come find me at the doorway of dreams!