Tests

Mazhar Khan
The Heart of Quran
Published in
5 min readApr 18, 2023
Image by Pavlo from Pixabay

[29:2] Do the people think that they will be left to say, “We believe,” without being put to the test?

As students of the Quran we are very much aware of this subject called “Test”. God says He will surely test us so this is one of the subjects where everyone feels connected whenever there is a discussion about it.

There are a lot of articles on tests and the experiences people share about how they overcame their tests. Similarly, I too had to go through a test but I am not going to talk about what kind of test it was and how smartly I handled it. Because it was not about me; it was about these believers who showed unconditional love towards me in that entire test process of mine. So It’s about them.

The great spiritual philosopher Shams Tabriz said: “The universe is a complete unique entity. Everything and everyone is bound together with some invisible strings. Do not break anyone’s heart; do not look down on weaker than you. One’s sorrow at the other side of the world can make the entire world suffer; one’s happiness can make the entire world smile.”

So when everything and everyone is connected in some way or the other, that means when one is being tested by God it’s not just a test for him/her; it’s also a test for people around him — his family, his friends and the community in how they are going to treat this person. Will they be judging him? Reminding him of what he should or should not have done? Or will they simply show love, kindness, hope, support and all things they can offer to ease his test?

A few believers set a great example for me and taught me about loving, caring and understanding their fellow believers while they are going through their Test. For me in my test, when I felt helpless one was there to support me. When I felt lonely another was there to give me company. When I was depressed my family was there to take care of me making sure I had food on time. When I felt like I had no future ahead, a friend enrolled me into this great institute so I could make a good career and focus on something I like, rather than feeling stuck in the same place.

“The world is changed by your example, not by your opinion.” ~Paulo Coelho

And this is what Abraham prayed for in Quran 26:84 “Let the example I set for the future generations be a good one.”

The example these believers set for me helped me realize that no matter how many times I read the scriptures, observe salats (Prayers), memorize Quranic verses, deliver great impressive sermons, or conduct Quran studies it’s never going to make any difference in my life nor help others in their spiritual journey if I am not having God’s love in my heart for other fellow human beings. Like how stars add beauty in the sky, flowers in the garden, and children in our homes similarly a heart which carries God’s love in it represents the beauty of God. When the believers go anywhere, they carry the Quran in their hearts and they do not need to quote the verses since their actions already speak louder.

We often think helping others means we need to have a lot of money. Which is not always true. God says He will test us through so many ways: [2.155] We will surely test you through some fear, hunger, and loss of money, lives, and crops. When a believer goes through a difficult test they may not need the reminders about what they did in the past that caused this test for them but they definitely need support from other believers without being judged. Of course, reminders are good, in fact, God encourages it in the Quran (51:55) And remind, for the reminder benefits the believers. But we need to remind in the best possible manner and we have some beautiful verses from Quran which can ease their hardship.

65:2 …Anyone who reverences GOD, He will create an exit for him.
65:4 …Anyone who reverences GOD, He makes everything easy for him.
65:5 …Anyone who reverences GOD, He remits his sins, and rewards him generously.

I heard these reminders from some: You must seek forgiveness, you must have done something wrong! All good is from God and bad from us!

Well, these reminders are true but I appreciated the earlier reminders more because I found them more helpful and encouraging.

God says each one of us has to be tested. He created each of us unique; thus our tests are also designed uniquely for our souls. So it is impossible for us to understand what one is going through in their life. Instead of judging, we can just offer love and support like a real family.

Of Course, God is the best supporter. Of Course, God never burdens any soul beyond its ability/means (23:62). But I believe it should be my responsibility to show love and care towards anyone going through any test and make them feel that they indeed have a family whom they can rely on. This was how those believers treated me when I was going through my test. May God bless them in abundance!

In fact, Quran teaches us to strive to reach an extraordinary level. [41:34] Not equal is the good response and the bad response. You shall resort to the nicest possible response. Thus, the one who used to be your enemy, may become your best friend. God tells us to work so hard that even our enemies become our friends. So definitely we have double the responsibility when it comes to believers.

All those who follow God’s commandments in 2:63 and 5:69 are believers, all members of one family. We, believers, can be different, but the common and most important thing between us is our Lord. It’s like we all are travellers on our way to our Beloved God. And there are so many paths to reach Him. And we always have something to serve with our co-travellers in this spiritual journey with our spiritual family. On this journey If we have a car we can give them a lift; if we don’t have a car we can walk along with them. If we are blessed with the strength we can carry their baggage, and share our food and water. If they fall we can give them our hands. There are so many ways to serve each other.

One of God’s attributes is, He is the Most Merciful. If one truly believes in Him and this quality of His, then one will always be merciful, kind and loving towards all other creatures.

May God continue to guide and bless us to show love, mercy, and compassion towards our fellow brothers and sisters.

49:10 The believers are members of one family; you shall keep the peace within your family and reverence GOD, that you may attain mercy.

59:10 “Our Lord, forgive us and our brethren who preceded us to the faith, and keep our hearts from harboring any hatred towards those who believed. Our Lord, You are Compassionate, Most Merciful.”

Peace & Love ❤️

--

--