Verses in the Quran about Solomon

Azhar Khan
The Heart of Quran
Published in
6 min readOct 9, 2021
Photo by Julian Anders on Unsplash

[2:102] They pursued what the devils taught concerning Solomon’s kingdom. Solomon, however, was not a disbeliever, but the devils were disbelievers. They taught the people sorcery, and that which was sent down through the two angels of Babel, Haroot and Maroot. These two did not divulge such knowledge without pointing out: “This is a test. You shall not abuse such knowledge.” But the people used it in such evil schemes as the breaking up of marriages. They can never harm anyone against the will of GOD. They thus learn what hurts them, not what benefits them, and they know full well that whoever practices witchcraft will have no share in the Hereafter. Miserable indeed is what they sell their souls for, if they only knew.

[4:163] We have inspired you, as we inspired Noah and the prophets after him. And we inspired Abraham, Ismail, Isaac, Jacob, the Patriarchs, Jesus, Job, Jonah, Aaron, and Solomon. And we gave David the Psalms.

[6:84] And we granted him Isaac and Jacob, and we guided both of them. Similarly, we guided Noah before that, and from his descendants (we guided) David, Solomon, Job, Joseph, Moses, and Aaron. We thus reward the righteous.

[21:78–82] And David and Solomon, when they once ruled with regard to someone’s crop that was destroyed by another’s sheep, we witnessed their judgment.
We granted Solomon the correct understanding, though we endowed both of them with wisdom and knowledge. We committed the mountains to serve David in glorifying (God), as well as the birds. This is what we did.
And we taught him the skill of making shields to protect you in war. Are you then thankful?
For Solomon, we committed the wind gusting and blowing at his disposal. He could direct it as he wished, to whatever land he chose, and we blessed such land for him. We are fully aware of all things.
And of the devils there were those who would dive for him (to harvest the sea), or do whatever else he commanded them to do. We committed them in his service.

[27:15–44] We endowed David and Solomon with knowledge, and they said, “Praise GOD for blessing us more than many of His believing servants.”
Solomon was David’s heir. He said, “O people, we have been endowed with understanding the language of the birds, and all kinds of things have been bestowed upon us. This is indeed a real blessing.” Mobilized in the service of Solomon were his obedient soldiers of jinns and humans, as well as the birds; all at his disposal.
When they approached the valley of the ants, one ant said, “O you ants, go into your homes, lest you get crushed by Solomon and his soldiers, without perceiving.”
He smiled and laughed at her statement, and said, “My Lord, direct me to be appreciative of the blessings You have bestowed upon me and my parents, and to do the righteous works that please You. Admit me by Your mercy into the company of Your righteous servants.”
He inspected the birds, and noted: “Why do I not see the hoopoe? Why is he missing?
“I will punish him severely or sacrifice him, unless he gives me a good excuse.”
He did not wait for long. (The hoopoe) said, “I have news that you do not have. I brought to you from Sheba, some important information.
“I found a woman ruling them, who is blessed with everything, and possesses a tremendous palace.
“I found her and her people prostrating before the sun, instead of GOD. The devil has adorned their works in their eyes, and has repulsed them from the path; consequently, they are not guided.”
They should have been prostrating before GOD, the One who manifests all the mysteries in the heavens and the earth, and the One who knows everything you conceal and everything you declare.
GOD: there is no other god beside Him; the Lord with the great dominion.
(Solomon) said, “We will see if you told the truth, or if you are a liar.
Take this letter from me, give it to them, then watch for their response.”
She said, “O my advisers, I have received an honorable letter.
“It is from Solomon, and it is, ‘In the name of GOD, Most Gracious, Most Merciful.’
“Proclaiming: ‘Do not be arrogant; come to me as submitters.’ ”
She said, “O my advisers, counsel me in this matter. I am not deciding anything until you advise me.” They said, “We possess the power, we possess the fighting skills, and the ultimate command is in your hand. You decide what to do.”
She said, “The kings corrupt any land they invade, and subjugate its dignified people. This is what they usually do.
“I am sending a gift to them; let us see what the messengers come back with.”
When the hoopoe returned to Solomon (he told him the news), and he responded (to Sheba’s people): “Are you giving me money? What GOD has given me is far better than what He has given you. You are the ones to rejoice in such gifts.”
(To the hoopoe, he said,) “Go back to them (and let them know that) we will come to them with forces they cannot imagine. We will evict them, humiliated and debased.”
He said, “O you elders, which of you can bring me her mansion, before they arrive here as submitters?” One afrit from the jinns said, “I can bring it to you before you stand up. I am powerful enough to do this.”
The one who possessed knowledge from the book said, “I can bring it to you in the blink of your eye.” When he saw it settled in front of him, he said, “This is a blessing from my Lord, whereby He tests me, to show whether I am appreciative or unappreciative. Whoever is appreciative is appreciative for his own good, and if one turns unappreciative, then my Lord is in no need for him, Most Honorable.”
He said, “Remodel her mansion for her. Let us see if she will be guided, or continue with the misguided.” When she arrived, she was asked, “Does your mansion look like this?” She said, “It seems that this is it.” (Solomon said,) “We knew beforehand what she was going to do, and we were already submitters.”
She had been diverted by worshiping idols instead of GOD; she belonged to disbelieving people.
She was told, “Go inside the palace.” When she saw its interior, she thought it was a pool of water, and she (pulled up her dress,) exposing her legs. He said, “This interior is now paved with crystal.” She said, “My Lord, I have wronged my soul. I now submit with Solomon to GOD, Lord of the universe.”

[34:12–14] To Solomon we committed the wind at his disposal, traveling one month coming and one month going. And we caused a spring of oil to gush out for him. Also, the jinns worked for him, by his Lord’s leave. Any one of them who disregarded our commands, we subjected him to a severe retribution.
They made for him anything he wanted — niches, statues, deep pools, and heavy cooking pots. O family of David, work (righteousness) to show your appreciation. Only a few of My servants are appreciative. When the appointed time for his death came, they had no clue that he had died. Not until one of the animals tried to eat his staff, and he fell down, did the jinns realized that he was dead. They thus realized that if they really knew the unseen, they would have stopped working so hard as soon as he died.

[38:30–40] To David we granted Solomon; a good and obedient servant.
One day he became preoccupied with beautiful horses, until the night fell.
He then said, “I enjoyed the material things more than I enjoyed worshiping my Lord, until the sun was gone.
“Bring them back.” (To bid farewell,) he rubbed their legs and necks.
We thus put Solomon to the test; we blessed him with vast material wealth, but he steadfastly submitted.
He said, “My Lord, forgive me, and grant me a kingship never attained by anyone else. You are the Grantor.”
We (answered his prayer and) committed the wind at his disposal, pouring rain wherever he wanted. And the devils, building and diving.
Others were placed at his disposal.
“This is our provision to you; you may give generously, or withhold, without limits.”
He has deserved an honorable position with us, and a wonderful abode.

--

--