Who Am I to Myself and Allah

Lisa Spray
The Heart of Quran
Published in
1 min readMay 28, 2019

--

Photo by Greg Rakozy on Unsplash

At first I was sure: “I am the master”
’til illness over took me for which I had no cure.
Still my ego paraded, driving itself faster and faster.

Then I assumed I was the director
’til bone did break and would not listen and heal.
Still I thought, I am no an objector!

Then I thought I was the steward
’til age stole away energy, beauty, and intellect.
Then earlier thought away was lured.

Then I pondered if I were the tenant
’til I saw that food and drink were provided.
More problems with my “I know” penchant.

Then I wondered if I were the boarded
’til I grasped that I was cared for and loved.
Now my mask of Truth, Death has hoarded.

At last I know ’m naught but guest, pupil, slave
of Al-Rahman, Al-Mulk, Al-Raheem, Al-Salaam.
Who provides me like “Snug Bear” in “Cave”.

I am but a puny human and wife,
given this great blessing of life!

--

--

Lisa Spray
The Heart of Quran

I 💕nature, photography, writing & travel. I find deep sharing heals. All with sincere faith are my spiritual family. Editor: The ❤️of Quran. Join us there 🤝.