Week 2: Give honest and sincere appreciation

Sylvia B.
The Hearts and Minds Project
2 min readJan 16, 2017

I knew that compliments can make someone feel better. Give them a confidence boost, maybe make them think of you as nicer, but I never knew how powerful compliments actually are until I started to observe. I showed appreciation to a lot of people this week and realized who the biggest suckers for compliments are- teachers. I was talking in class one day and I saw the teacher come over. Her being one of the strictest teachers, I had no question in my mind what she was going to say, so before she could tell us to quiet down. I tell her how well structured I think her class is (which-for the record-is true) she leaves without a word about our volume. Just to double down, I complimented her earrings on the way out. Later that week, I had to print about 100 sheets of paper out for my science project, so naturally, I needed to use the computer lab. I had to go back about three times and there were minor issues with the printer twice which required the attention of the computer teacher. She didn’t show it, but really, who wants to have to help someone print out that many papers while on break for a class other than hers. After finishing, I thanked her for her help and complimented her colorful style of dress to which she replied something along the lines of, “thank you so much, let me know if you ever need anything else.” Every teacher I complimented seemed more willing to talk to me and help me out.

Compliments to family can be harder. My family, of course, knows me a lot better than my teachers. They can tell when you’re being sincere, or when you want something. The easiest to influence was my sister. I continuously told her how her lemonade is amazing and how much better it is than anyone else’s. When I asked for lemonade, she was more than happy to make it for me and even asked to make it for me a couple of times. After a week of complimenting my mom on her intelligence, hard work, and beauty, I did notice that she was less demanding when it came to chores. My dad was the hardest. I complimented him mostly on his cooking, but his straight-forwardness often leads him to respond with “what do you want,” and a chuckle. Either that or “it’s good isn’t it?” I guess his ego is big enough that it doesn’t need to be fed.

So, when it comes to showing appreciation, I guess it really depends on who you’re showing it to and your relationship to that person, but in the long run, they really pay off. It doesn’t cost anything to give compliments and what you get in return is very much worth it, no matter how small.

--

--