Week 9- Make people feel important

Sylvia B.
The Hearts and Minds Project
2 min readMar 5, 2017

I didn’t really have many opportunities to do this for the specific reason to get something, but I still found some ways to make people feel important, and even if I didn’t get anything, it still made them feel appreciated and me feel like I did something good.

When my mom came home from work, I would tell her how much I appreciated her all her hard work to make our money. When my dad finished dinner I told him how important it was that we eat dinner together and how I appreciated it that he always cooks for us. When my friend and I worked together on an assignment, I thanked him for his help on deciding if certain scenarios were constitutional or not. When the grocery store employee helped move a cart out of the way for me I thanked her and told her that it was helpful. I got all positive reactions from these, even if was just a sincere thank you, but maybe next time I need something, they will all be a little more willing to help.

To tell people they’re important, you have to notice things they are doing that are important to you. As I am already a pretty observant person, it was surprising how little I noticed how much I appreciate the things that people do to help me. Consciously noticing these things in order to say so say something about it made me a little more appreciative of the people in my life, and telling them that made me feel like they appreciated me too.

--

--