Week Five : Smile

BellaB
The Hearts and Minds Project
2 min readFeb 2, 2017

You would think this week would be very easy just to smile. And you are right! All you have to do is just smile. But instead of people being nicer to me I got a lot of criticism. People in my class were saying stuff like “Stop smiling its weird” and “You look creepy” so I said “I am just smiling what is wrong with that?” to my classmates.

On the other hand this Saturday we went to the grocery store. I asked my mom what the principle was for this week and she said “ the principle is to smile.” So I started smiling and my sister said “Stop doing that we are in public!!” in a moody voice. Then I said “you don’t know any of these people here and there is a 50 50 chance that you are going to see someone you know here, and plus it is the principle for this week.”

Smiling seemed to work better with adults. There was one teacher who was in a bad mood, and then i smiled at them. After that they seemed in a better mood the rest of the day.

Also this effect seemed to work on dogs, i smiled at my pug and she wagged her tail.

--

--

BellaB
The Hearts and Minds Project

I am a 4th grader trying to follow the book “How to Win Friends and Influence People” to be nicer to people.