How I Grew A 7 Figure Business On Social Media

Ronnessa Brown
The Helm
Published in
3 min readJan 25, 2020

--

When I started my business I was a single mother of 3. I could not afford a website so I used social media to sell my products. Within a few years I grew a 7 figure business on social media!

Today social media has gotten me thousands of customers, new relationships with amazing women, customers who feel like they are apart of my family and a platform that I am able to leverage for free. It’s totally worth it!

Using social media to engage with employees and customers

I use social media to engage with employees. I like to share them publicly thru recognition and team building on my social media platforms. This, I think sends a message that they are truly apart of the brand. It also gives our community a chance to meet and engage with our staff.

When it comes to my audience, I make it a priority to engage with people on a daily basis which includes responding to my DMs, finding accounts that interest me and showing them love.

Even though social media is a virtual platform, I find I can still personally connect with customers through voice memos. It’s a great personal touch! Most are shocked that it’s really me. I even send videos which allows us to build a more personal connection.

I recently shared a post on the importance of building business credit and how I’ve used it to support my business on the front end with supplies and inventory. I was blown away by the amount of people who wanted this type of information. The post was shared over 500 times and received over 400 comments. People truly want tools to grow as small business owners.

Pitfalls and negativity

Unfortunately using social media comes with its pitfalls. Succeeding on social media without building a email list is incredibly difficult.

Social media is constantly changing so it is important to collect your followers contact information so that you can connect with them on all platforms.

For ex. Vine was at one point prominent and then it disappeared. We have to be intentional with getting contact information from our follows on these social platforms.

When dealing with criticism, I’ve learned to remain professional and courteous with my customers. I don’t allow bad energy to live on my pages. My biggest goal is to keep our customers happy on social media and not explode from constructive criticism.

Ronne Brown is the CEO of Girl CEO Inc. She’s a branding expert, professional speaker, author, mentor, wife and a mother of four. She has made her mark internationally in the online and social media business with her revolutionizing branding techniques. She went from being a statistic to a success story and turned minimum wage income into a seven-figure salary within a few short years.

She’s is one of social media’s most influential entrepreneurs inspiring and teaching people around the world with over 150,000 followers on her
Instagram account.

--

--