5 thumbnail sketches

I’m exploring the value of Compassion and the way it relates to others and the self.

Starting at the Top Left, I was looking into the concept with the image of two hearts connected to each other reminiscent of The Two Fridas by Frida Kahlo to emphasize the connection between the concept of self and the concept of others.

To the right of that I also explored the concept of “You Are My Other Self” from the poem “IN LAK’ECH: YOU ARE MY OTHER ME” by Luís Valdez and Domingo Martinez Paredes. In the poem, the idea of compassion, self-respect and sonder are explored and I wanted to emphasize that with the hands or the two beings holding hands.

Moving towards the bottom row my peers in the breakout room in section gave me the idea of incorporating more than 2 objects or elements, beyond a duality and going into 3, 4, or more elements or people. So with that I thought of the idea of a circle, and from there was thinking of a circle of people holding hands. The triangles I made on the outside border of the circle reminded me of the rays of the sun so I thought of a sun made out of people holding hands.

The final image is experimenting with placement and arrangement of the text. Overall, I feel like I might use the sun made out of people holding hands because I feel like the sun encapsulates the value of warmth, nourishment and strength. Whether or not I decide to have it as a large asset in the middle will be something I’ll explore.

5 thumbnail sketches about compassion

--

--