Different values lead to different pieces

A brief History of Industrial Design writes with a white, educated population in mind. It tells the story of white men who have largely written, and thus included themselves in history. It is Eames and Henry Dreyfuss and Dieter Rams. It is not George Washington Carver and it is only Ray Eames by her association to Charles. A critic may say that it is called “A brief” history since it only includes the history of white men and fails to tell the story of the countless others who have created and continue to create the world we live in today. Black People Invented Everything seems to target a black audience; I believe to overcompensate for the lack of black history taught in school. It reflects values of pride and of innovation, as it encourages black readers to continue inventing, and to be proud. Paraphrased, “if the only time you think of me as a scientist is during black history month, then I must not be doing my job as a scientist.” The writing urges black readers, and others, to acknowledge and accredit the work of black inventors as inventors who have changed American society — white & black and every race in between. Sadly, I think the Brief History of Industrial Design reminds me more of a story I would have read in school — one of fact and of commonly told fact. It’s great and interesting to know about the Jonny Ive’s and Bill Gates of the world, but no more important than the the George Washington Carver’s.

The only difference being that I had never heard of Carver and that I have learned about Ive and Gates more times than I can count on two hands. It’s time for us to rewrite history, and I believe it cannot only be for the sake of ‘inclusive design.’ People will start listening when those who don’t opt into the values of ‘inclusivity’ take it as second nature that people of all races, backgrounds, lives design some of the most outstanding things. And it’s on young people, young designers, like me to make sure that I view the world openly and begin to create a more equal word, rather than naturally falling into perpetuating the status quo.

--

--