Life Before and After Freelancing: Some Insights from My Life

Homework Help Global
The Homework Help Global Blog
3 min readJan 29, 2018

Welcome to the 4th edition of personal stories written by our Staff Writers at Homework Help Global.

Becoming a freelance writer certainly has its own share of perks. Today, freelance writing, and freelancing in general, is gaining immense popularity. By 2020, it is expected that around 60 million Americans will become independent freelancers and contract-based remote workers. But, this article is not about the advantages of freelancing. This is just a sneak peek into my life and personal journey of freelancing.

To begin with, I am a full-time freelance writer who greatly enjoys the work that she does.

I am a woman who had always been extremely conscious with my studies during my highschool and college days; I never indulged in anything that could possibly affect my studies. To be precise, some would classify me as a ‘nerd’ and a certified one at that!

Life before freelancing

Life before freelancing was very placid. It was so boring that there is not anything interesting that I could vividly describe here. Had my school life been made as a movie, I am sure you would eventually walk out from the theaters within a few minutes of screening.

But, as a person, as an individual, I have experienced a massive shift in my life since I have started freelancing. To be honest, freelancing is the only job I have ever done since I had began working and I couldn’t be happier about it.

Before I began freelancing as a career, I was a carefree person who didn’t care about anything other than her books and library membership; a person who hadn’t maintained her spending, and a person who wasn’t willing to expand her horizons. I have never cared about the financial situation of my parents, I never really thought about the struggles that my parents had undergone, and most importantly I was a person who had simply no real aspirations in life.

Life after freelancing

After considering my circumstances, I decided to pursue freelancing as a career and initially struggled a lot trying to gain a foothold. With perseverance, I never called it ‘quits’. It was quite a change for me as I am not the deterministic type. I used to complain about things and situations that I could not control of change.

Freelancing taught to me accept my failures, gave me the maturity to acknowledge what I could improve, and more importantly, taught me to appreciate everything I had. I then realized that freelancing is my inner calling.

I have also become financially independent and I am earning a respectable income. While some of my dreams have come true, there is still a long way to go. But, the fact is that freelancing has given me the confidence to face my life on my own terms. Before freelancing, I was an anxiety-ridden individual who would think about an issue endlessly for hours without finding a remedy for it. Now, I am confident enough to face problems that arise head on. As I continue to earn an income through freelancing, I now realize the amount of hard work and sacrifice that my parents endured to provide me with a good life.

It goes without saying that freelancing has taught me some valuable life lessons. It has taught me self-discovery, provided a ground for me to stand on my own two feet, and more importantly, taught me to value my kith and kin. I’m not normally one to get emotional, but I really cannot emphasize enough the impact that ‘freelancing’ has had on my life.

References

Schrader, B. (2015). Here’s Why The Freelancer Economy Is On The Rise. Fast Company. Retrieved 7 June 2017, from https://www.fastcompany.com/3049532/heres-why-the-freelancer-economy-is-on-the-rise

The Top 5 Ways to Live Life Simply and Happily. (2017). Homeworkhelpglobal.com. Retrieved 7 June 2017, from https://www.homeworkhelpglobal.com/ca/blog/5-ways-to-simply-your-life-and-be-happy/

--

--

Homework Help Global
The Homework Help Global Blog

Professional & Custom Essay Writing Services Across the Globe! bit.ly/HHGmedium 📱 1–415–997–2255 Join Our Texting List