I Wrote the First Draft of My Novel in 25 Days. This Is How.

From nothing to novel in 25 days and I have the screenshots to prove it.

E.B. Johnson | NLPMP | Editor
The Honest Author
Published in
11 min readMar 6, 2024

--

My friends were not happy with me. It had been weeks and I had barely made an appearance for dinner, drinks, or anything else. I was fielding text messages multiple times in a day. “Where are you? What’s going on?”

The truth? I’d been MIA because I’d been writing a novel.

For those who have climbed this mountain, you know what an impossible task this can be. Going from a blank page to “the end” is no small feat.

Writing a book can feel a lot medieval like battle at times. It starts with a brave charge into the unknown, you’re filled with hope and pride in what you do. A few hours or days later, you sit weakly in front of a glowing scream. Your hands hurt. Your arms are screaming and the self-doubt is thundering in your brain.

For those who have written a novel, or tried to write a novel, it comes as no shock that only 30 out of 1000 people who start writing a book ever finish it. The process is not for the weak, and not for those who lack focus or conviction.

So imagine my surprise when, after only 25 days of writing, I finished the first draft of a historical fiction novel. What? It’s true (see…

--

--

E.B. Johnson | NLPMP | Editor
The Honest Author

NLPMP Coach | Writer & Content Creator | Sharing my knowedge with the world ⭐️ https://linktr.ee/ebjohnson01