The women of history deserve more than your historical romances

The women of yesterday and the daughters of tomorrow deserve more than your historical romances and this is why.

E.B. Johnson | NLPMP | Editor
The Honest Author
Published in
6 min readApr 8, 2019

--

by: E.B. Johnson

I’m someone who not only writes historical fiction, I also read a lot of historical fiction. I love a good story about a strong female who changed the tides of world events, but I often find that these stories center more around the relationships in that woman’s life, rather than the role she played in the events taking place around her.

If you’re the type that loves a good history read too, then you’ll know how hard it can be to find fiction that focuses on the actual history, rather than romance — especially when it comes to the stories of women. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve fallen in love with a new historical heroine, only to be let down when I discover that the brunt of the story centers around what man she can catch or what man she is constantly longing for.

The women of history deserve more than your historical romances.

As women, we have been coached for centuries to make ourselves small. We make ourselves small at home when it comes time to stand up to our husbands; we make…

--

--

E.B. Johnson | NLPMP | Editor
The Honest Author

NLPMP Coach | Writer & Content Creator | Sharing my knowedge with the world ⭐️ https://linktr.ee/ebjohnson01