Arms In The Dark

ADEOLA SHEEHY-ADEKALE
The Honest Perspective
1 min readNov 30, 2021

--

A poem

Image by David Cohen on Unsplash

There are moments in the dark
when the loneliness is piercing
moments that have me begging for the future to arrive today
when I’ll be held in the dark
secure and safe within the arms of another
knowing that dawn is always faced together

In this moment I feel alone
the only arms to hold this weight are mine
the only arms to meet our needs
the only arms to bring us security

This loneliness isn’t empty
it is full of the strength and courage I carry
I am safe because I make myself so
I am secure because I know who I am

There will be a moment when I can rest
when another’s arms will take my load
until then I am strong enough to hold my own.

If you are new to this platform, you can Join Medium here to read more stories

This piece is from Adeola’s upcoming book ‘Climbing In The Dark’. To be the first to hear about its release and read more of her work, subscribe to her weekly love note here…

--

--

ADEOLA SHEEHY-ADEKALE
The Honest Perspective

Writing on female experience, race, motherhood & self-development. Columnist at Green Parent magazine & Parenting Top Writer. Follow me on IG @adeola_moonsong.