From Checklists to Inventories

A Gratitude Mindset

Zoe Carada
The Honest Perspective
1 min readMay 7, 2023

--

Photo by Mukul Wadhwa on Unsplash

I wrote recently about positive thinking (The Self Is a Positive Thinker), relating it to gratitude and to truth. This is in response to The Honest Perspective May prompt.

Gratitude is a mindset: from checklists to inventories.

I was driving home once after a business trip, getting back to the awareness of what awaited home. Solitude 24 / 7.

A secret underground door suddenly opened: all this may be nothing but the other face of complete freedom. I could flip the solitude into my lifelong yearning.

I wasn’t alone, cut off, disconnected. I was safe and free from the traps I’d been in: the wrong relationships, the wrong work, the wrong place.

It didn’t exactly feel like gratitude, at least not what people usually imagine it might feel. But it made the burden feel my own, chosen, accepted.

And it filled me with wonder, seeing how, in truth, we build the world with our thoughts.

Made by author with Canva

--

--