Go and Get Some….

A POEM

Waqas Ahmad
The Honest Perspective
2 min read3 days ago

--

The night is here
breathing in and out,
whispering secrets,
what secrets?
our secrets…
but the air falls quiet
as they brush my skin,
as they graze my soul,
like the questions
lost in the haze
what haze?
our haze…

I wander through corridors of maybe,
each turn revealing a mirror
reflecting a face I can’t place.
Is it mine, or just an echo
what echo?
our echo…
of who I once was,
fading into the backdrop
of this untold tale?

Where am I,
in this labyrinth of half-truths and mirages,
in the spaces between breaths,
where uncertainty curls like smoke
and the horizon is just a whisper
of what could be?
where am I?
I don’t know…
Do you know?

The world outside my window
looks the same, but different
colours bleed into each other,
the lines of reality blurred,
as if someone has smeared
the edge of existence
with a hand.
what hand?
your hand…

I reach out,
but the answers slip through my fingers,
like sand,
like time,
like the names of those I once knew
but have since forgotten.

Where am I?
The question lingers,
a silence drawn in the dark,
a riddle wrapped in the fog of doubt.
Do you know?
Or are we both adrift,
wandering through this wilderness
of thoughts,
waiting for the dawn
to illuminate the path
we cannot see?
What do we see?
Our light.

In the midst of life’s uncertainties, we often find ourselves questioning our place in the world. This poem explores that sense of disorientation, where the boundaries of reality blur, and answers seem elusive. It’s a journey through the unknown, where every step forward is a step into the self, uncovering not just where we are, but who we are becoming. The search for light in the darkness is universal, and perhaps in that search, we find the strength to keep moving forward, together.

--

--