Here I Am

poem from prompt

Chantelle Atkins
The Honest Perspective
2 min readMay 5, 2024

--

Photo by Joshua Woroniecki on Unsplash

Here I am, again
stepping out of pajamas
in a cold bathroom
pulling on fresh underwear
pulling on old jeans
thinking, here I am again
and there I am again
in the kitchen, with coffee
standing, waiting
for the day to begin
then it does, over and over
again and again
then, I am driving the car
and driving back
and walking the dogs
and drinking more coffee and
there I am again
cooking dinner, ending the day
thinking ahead to bed
where I will be again
just like I always am
existing in the same moments
like time doesn’t move at all
yet I know it does, it moves me
from one day to the next
closer to death
waiting for something
just bright chinks of light
or dust motes, dead skin, cells
floating on a sunbeam
sometimes the radiator is warm
when I get dressed
and it makes me smile
and the coffee is just right
and the music sets my heart alight
the smallest things
are always
the most beautiful
the sun through the trees
singing out loud
falling asleep
waking up
to live again

--

--

Chantelle Atkins
The Honest Perspective

Author and owner of Chasing Driftwood Writing Group and Chasing Driftwood Books. Owner of The Wild Writers Club publication. https://chantelleatkins.com/